Squads for IRB Tbilisi Cup 2013




Almost two weeks are left until the kickoff of the first ever IRB Tbilisi Cup – A newly established senior full-scaled rugby tournament that will annually take place in the Capital of Georgia. The matches of the pioneering competition will be played on 7th, 11th and 16th of June. As it was announced in April, the tournament will feature Georgia, Emerging Ireland, SA President’s XV and the Uruguay. The IRB Tbilisi Cup is organized by the Georgian Rugby Union and the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs of Georgia.


Hosting an IRB annual tournament is a case of great prestige for any rugby nation in the world. This is greatly significant for Georgia as a rugby nation, as it means the recognition of Georgia’s achievements and progress in the game by the world rugby family.


This new annual international tournament represents a part of IRB’s ongoing strategy of increasing the competition schedule for Tier Two nations.  With Rugby now firmly established as the national sport in Georgia, the IRB-funded Tbilisi Cup is poised to be a popular addition to the international Rugby calendar. 


Georgian Rugby Union now is in the middle of the preparation process and is working hard for the tournament to be one of the high profile and standard.   






All the tournament matches will take place at AVCHALA rugby stadium, which in 2011 hosted the IRB Junior World Rugby Trophy. The stadium, which includes two high standard pitches - main, naturally covered and secondary, artificial one, accommodates some 2100 spectators. The stadium mainly hosts the Georgian Premiership matches.


The matches will be played in following sequence:









Uruguay  vs.  SA President’s XV



Georgia vs.  Emerging Ireland




Emerging Ireland vs.  SA President’s XV



Georgia vs.  Uruguay  




Georgia vs.  SA President’s XV



Uruguay  vs.  Emerging Ireland





All the tournament matches will be broadcasted live on TV9 and streamed live on their website (http://www.tv9.ge/) and www.irb.com (as well as IRB’s official YouTube platform).




Some two weeks before the tournament, all of the participating teams have announced their squads IRB Tbilisi Cup 2013.


GEORGIA - "We are very pleased to have this great tournament here in Georgia and the players are looking forward to once again representing their country in front of their families and friends as well as all our fans"


"The squad is a mixture of youth and experience and will give all of the players a chance to showcase their skills in front of the selectors. Its especially a great opportunity for those players who were not involved in the ENC this year to show the coaches that they need considering in future selections."


" The tournament has 4 very good teams participating and there will be no easy match, especially with the short turnarounds between games which adds another challenge to the players and coaches." Said the head couch of Georgia – Milton Haig.


The Squad


1. Zurab Zhvania – Stade Francais, Fra

2. Irakli Mirtskhulava – Tarbes, Fra

3. Iuri Natriashvili – Brive, Fra

4. Simon Maisuradze – Stade Bagneres, Fra

5. Davit Kubriashvili – Toulon, Fra

6. Levan Chilachava – Toulon, Fra

7. Anton Peikrishvili – Castres, Fra

8. Konstantine Mikautadze – Toulon, Fra

9. Giorgi Chkhaidze – Tarbes, Fra

10. Lasha Lomidze – Montpelier, Fra

11. Giorgi Nemsadze – Tarbes, Fra

12. Dimitri Basilaia – Edinburgh Rugby, Sco

13. Viktor Kolelishvili – Clermont, Fra

14. Shalva Sutiashvili – Massy, Fra

15. Vakhtang Maisuradze – Albi, Fra

16. Giorgi Begadze – RC Batumi, Geo

17. Vazha Khutsishvili – RC Kharebi, Geo

18. Lasha Khmaladze – RC Lelo, Geo

19. Merab Kvirikashvili – Saint Junnien, Geo

20. Merab Sharikadze – Hartpury College, Eng

21. David Kacharava – Rodez, Fra

22. Tedore Zibzibadze – Perigoeux, Fra

23. Irakli Machkhaneli (Capt) – RC Armazi, Geo

24. Tamaz Mchedlidze – Mont de Marsan, Fra

25. Beka Tsiklauri – RC Locomotive, Geo

26. Giorgi Pruidze – RC Aia, Geo




EMERGING IRELAND - "The Georgian tour will be a great experience for the players, most of whom have recently come through the Ireland underage system.

"It will be a tough tour with three games in 14 days and a smaller squad of 26 players, which should mean everyone getting significant game time." Said the acting Head couch of Ireland Les Kiss.








The squad


1. Michael Allen - Belfast Harlequins, Ulster
2. Michael Bent - Dublin University, Leinster
3. Andrew Conway - Blackrock College, Leinster
4. John Cooney - Lansdowne, Leinster
5. Sean Cronin - St. Mary's College, Leinster
6. David Foley - UL Bohemians, Munster
7. Eoin Griffin – Galwegians, Connacht
8. Cathal Marsh - Dublin University, Leinster
9. Michael Heaney - Belfast Harlequins, Ulster
10. Rob Herring – Ballynahinch, Ulster
11. David Kearney – Lansdowne, Leinster
12. Ian Keatley - Young Munster, Munster
13. Richard Lutton - Belfast Harlequins, Ulster
14. Brendan Macken - Blackrock College, Leinster
15. Jack McGrath - St. Mary's College, Leinster
16. Eoin McKeon – Galwegians, Connacht
17. Martin Moore – Lansdowne, Leinster
18. Niall Morris - Leicester Tigers, Eng
19. Jordi Murphy – Lansdowne, Leinster
20. Ian Nagle  - Cork Constitution, Munster
21. Robbie Diack  - Malone, Ulster
22. Tiernan O'Halloran – Galwegians, Connacht
23. Rhys Ruddock - St. Mary's College, Leinster (Capt)
24. Dominic Ryan – Lansdowne, Leinster
25. John Ryan - Cork Constitution, Munster
26. Lewis Stevenson – Malone, Ulster




SA PRESIDENTS   XV - “I’m very excited about this squad and I know they will represent South Africa with great honour in Georgia”

“It will be a tough tournament in Tbilisi. The Georgian and Uruguayan teams will be made up of players with Test experience, while we all know that Ireland have great depth.” Said the President of South Africa Rugby Union Oregan Hoskins.





The squad


1. Carl Bezuidenhout - Pumas
2. Alshaun - Bock Eagles
3. Renaldo Bothma - Pumas
4. Jaco Bouwer - Pumas
5. Uzair Cassiem - Pumas
6. Marius Coetzer - Pumas
7. Ashton Contant - Boland
8. Ricardo Croy - Boland
9. Martin Dreyer - Leopards
10. Adriaan Engelbrecht - Leopards
11. Ivann Espag - Pumas
12. Vincent Gwavu - Valke
13. Frank Herne - Pumas
14. Jacquin Jansen - Boland
15. Zandré Jordaan - Boland
16. Ntando Kebe - Boland
17. Vincent Koch - Pumas
18. Inus Kritzinger - Griffons
19. Wilmaure Louw - Pumas
20. Hoffman Maritz - Leopards
21. Khwezilokusa - Mkhafu
22. Giant Mtyanda - Eagles
23. Sinovuyo Nyoka - Border
24. Jerome Pretorius - Pumas
25. Joe Seerane - Border
26. Brian Shabangu - Border
27. Brendon Snyman - Leopards
28. Rosco Speckman - Pumas




 URUGUAY – National team side selection for the IRB Tbilisi Cup 2013










The Squad



1. Mathias Palomeque

2. Franco Lamanna

3. Cristofer Soares de Lima

4. Mario Sagario

5. Arturo Avalo

6. Alejo Corral

7. Mateo Sanguinetti

8. Juan Rombys

9. Agustin Alonso

10. Juan De Freitas

11. Juan Gaminara

12. Fernando Bascou

13. Diego Magno

14. Alejo Duran

15. Rodrigo Silva 

16. Gaston Gibernau

17. Joaquin Prada

18. Santiago Core

19. Alberto Roman

20. Leandro Leivas

21. Jerónimo Etcheverry

22. Rodolfo de Mula

23. Nicolás Klappenbach

24. Rodrigo Espiga

25. Francisco Bulanti








Georgian time


Rugby World Cup 2015
European Nations Cup
video gallery
Rugby Facilities
Youth Training Centers
Foreign Players
keep rugby clean
helpful links




რაგბი თივი


რადიო პალიტრა




საქართველოს სპორტისა და ახალგაზრდობის საქმეთა სამინისტროს ლოგო თიბისი ბანკის ლოგო   აისის ლოგო     მინდა ჯგუფის ლოგო